Poster Print

Original: 

Rustic Piano; 10-20-2011; 2:37pm; Bannock, MT; Aperture Priority; f 5.6; 1/8; Canon EOS Digital Rebel XS.

I printed on 24×36 of this image.

I did a lot of edits to make this picture what I wanted it to be. The first thing I did was the spot healing brush to cover up some of the dust and blemishes on the keys. I then did a new adjustment layer, but I had only the area around the keys selected. I then brought up the contrast, brightness, and saturation. I then selected only the top portion of the image, and did the same thing. Then, I added an unsharp mask to the whole image, and then did a lens correction to add the vignette.

I had a really hard time choosing a photo to print. I have a lot of images that I really like, but that I didn’t necessarily want blown up on my wall. The only place in my apartment with an area big enough to put a 24×36 is above my kitchen table, so I also wanted it to somewhat match the room. I had some other images picked out, because I thought this one would be too blurry blown up, but I decided I didn’t want those ones blown up. I play the piano, so this image sort of represents me. I figured its something I could have for a while and always find a use for, so I spent some time doing some edits, and then printed this one. I’m really pleased with how it turned out.

I took this picture in one of the houses in Bannock Ghost town. The house had tons of really cool things in it, so I was just going around and taking pictures of all of them. I didn’t really have a process, but I new I wanted a picture of the keys on the piano.

As you can see, the original is kind of boring. It looks flat, and there isn’t really any cool colors or aspects to it. It also looks really old and dusty. That is why I did I adjusted the contrast, brightness, and saturation because they all added flavor to the image. I sharpened it so that it would be less blurry, and to crispen the edges. I added the vignette to add more depth to the image.

Leave a comment